Graffiti tag

I’ve come up with an original idea for a meme. It was inspired by this photo on Cold Feet – Longing Heart:

Garage Peter Pan, Toronto

Grant calls it, “Garage Peter Pan”. He comments:

Since coming to Toronto, I have found amazing works of graffiti art. … Some beautify abandoned buildings; others beautify garage doors.

The picture accompanying this blog was taken by me in our neighbourhood and it is just one of several pieces that I have photographed and put on my flickr site. … Some of these pieces of street art, as I call it, make our alleyways art exhibits and they deserve to be appreciated and seen.

 
I agree! In that spirit, I’d like to celebrate the graffiti art found in my city — and yours! Here are some samples I photographed in Ottawa, in the vicinity of Lebreton Flats.

Better a living draft dodger than a dead soldier:

give me your draft dodgers
This painting is located within spitting distance of the new War Museum. A coincidence? — I doubt it!

More … I need more!

Actually three pictures that I mashed together using the Paint.net program. All three are painted on the same wall.

More - I need more!
So much for the social safety net!

Whence / whither / why?

whence whither why
In the words of another great artist, John Lennon, How can I go forward when I don’t know which way I’m facing?

Now appearing:

Another mash.

now appearing
You have a walk-on part in this Japanese woman’s dream.

Compressed work week

compressed work week
Five days of commuting packed into one panel.

There’s graffiti in every city on the planet; so far we’ve only touched on Toronto and Ottawa. I’m inviting you to post photos of the graffiti in your city, so we can turn this into an international celebration of urban street art.

I tag Carolyn, Jamie, Juggling Mother, and Oxymandias. (Though I don’t know whether some of you ever post photos.) But if anyone else wants to join in, please do! Let me know if you post photos and I’ll link to you.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JewishAtheist
    Nov 23, 2006 @ 22:06:19

    That’s some great graffiti. I don’t usually pay much attention to it.

    Reply

  2. juggling mother
    Nov 24, 2006 @ 04:47:46

    You might have to wait till I go in to Bristol, or maybe London (whichever I do first), as good street graffitti is the preserves of big cities – we just have the normal “chaz woz ere” in Weston – and not much of that tbh:-)

    Reply

  3. Bill
    Nov 24, 2006 @ 11:51:30

    Looks like you have the city covered and unfortunately I don’t have a digital camera at the moment.

    That said there was an interesting piece of Graffiti across from my old apartment near the university, although the artist lacked real art skill I appreciated the sentiment in bold letters it said:

    MON PAYS EST BILINGUE !!!

    I am not sure if is still there, I will have to check next time I drive by.

    Reply

  4. Ozymandias
    Nov 25, 2006 @ 12:02:45

    If I can find any that is worthy and have a camera on hand I shall send it in.

    Reply

  5. Darmok
    Nov 29, 2006 @ 08:45:25

    That picture (third from bottom) looks suspiciously like a Picasso-ish version of a Borg cube from Star Trek.

    Nice post!

    Reply

  6. Stephen
    Nov 29, 2006 @ 10:11:47

    Thanks, Darmok — I hadn’t thought of that similarity to the Borg cube!

    Reply

  7. Jamie
    Dec 02, 2006 @ 19:06:56

    Hmm…I’ll have to see what I can come up with. I don’t go into downtown Atlanta very often, and there’s not much graffiti out here in the suburbs, but I’ll try to hunt some down somewhere. Interesting meme idea!

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Different Kind of Meme « It’s Not All Mary Poppins
  9. Anonymous
    Nov 30, 2007 @ 01:54:28

    draft dodger is sick
    power to the people

    Reply

  10. Anonymous
    Aug 07, 2008 @ 22:52:29

    nice graff

    Reply

Leave a Reply

