O ye of little faith

Some of you Doubting Thomas types have suggested that the seagull in the photo in the previous post is standing on ice, not water. That may be correct; but, if it is, I wasn’t aware of it when I published the post.

Mary P. and I were out that afternoon, and the canal did not look frozen to us. It was Mary who first commented on the seagulls — these ones:

walking on water 2

You can’t see the feet of the three seagulls on the right, because they are under water. The three seagulls on the left seem to be standing in very shallow water … creating the illusion that they are standing on the water. Despite the white bubbles Bill called attention to, I don’t think this is ice.

laurel wreathAs for the seagull in the previous post, I assumed he had found a spot where there is a mere film of water over the bottom of the canal. (The canal is drained before winter arrives.)

The laurel wreath goes to Tabatha, who said, “Looks like a thin film of water over sand.”

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bill
    Dec 01, 2006 @ 10:15:11

    I still hold by my ice explanation as Seagulls are often seen walking on the water of canals in the spring and fall.

    And just the other day another Ottawa Blogger took a few pictures of them and posted them on her blog http://www.robink.ca/blog/seagulls-on-thin-ice/

    I also was told by a Dutch friend of mine that in Amsterdam they refer to them as Jesus Gulls .

    I Want My laurel Wreath. )-:

    Reply

  2. Stephen
    Dec 01, 2006 @ 10:56:38

    You might be right, Bill … I wish I could go back and double-check.

    The best I could do was ask Mary P. about it. As I said, she is convinced (as I was) that the canal wasn’t frozen over.

    But you can have a laurel wreath for … hosting the best political blog in Canada. How’s that?

    Reply

  3. 49erDweet
    Dec 02, 2006 @ 20:50:17

    bill’s wreath may be well-deserved, but I claim a “golden palm tree” for being the first to raise the question in the earlier post. It was and still is a great photo, though.

    Cheers

    Reply

  4. Mary P
    Dec 03, 2006 @ 08:46:50

    Sigh… You cannot make something be true just because you have firm opinions. The canal had been frozen a couple of days earlier. It looked quite, quite different. This was WATER, not ice. I know, I was there. I could tell, because when the birds walked around, their feet disappeared more often than not. Moreover, when the birds flew in to land, they created a small splash and ripple. White bits notwithstanding, ice does not splash and ripple.

    Reply

  5. Stephen
    Dec 03, 2006 @ 17:09:30

    • 49er:
    I had no idea that handing out laurel wreaths on a blog would turn out to be such a popular idea. I’ll have to do it again. I’m sure you’ll earn yours in no time.

    • Mary:
    Obviously you were paying closer attention than I was!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

