Defenceless against pretty woman

I don’t usually read Dear Abby, but for some reason I did today. This letter is pathetic, but hilarious.

Pretty girl is more than roommates can handle

DEAR ABBY:
My best friend, “Ted,” and I recently met an attractive girl I’ll call “Bridget.” Ted was married and suggested I date Bridget.

Within a few days, before I got up the nerve to ask her on a date, Ted broke up with his wife, moved in with me and started seeing Bridget.

This was awkward, but in addition, Bridget started making sexual advances toward me. Unfortunately, I didn’t have the wisdom to keep away from her. Although we didn’t have sex, I was closer to her than I should have been to my best friend’s girl.

Bridget JonesTed knows about it, and now ensures that Bridget and I are never alone together. He constantly worries about the situation, and it is interfering with his job.

I believe he wants to break up with her, but he’s afraid I will date her. I agreed with his suggestion that we both stop talking to her, but they are still dating. She continues to flirt with me every time he leaves the room, and I am defenseless against a pretty woman.

Bridget says she likes me, but she loves Ted. She clearly has some attachment issues. I would love to talk to her about them and help her.

I think Ted and I both have strong feelings for her. What should we do? Neither of us can resist when she cries or wants something.

“I am defenseless against a pretty woman.” Honestly! Are there still men living in the West who blame women for their lack of sexual self-control?

It’s too bad Dear Abby doesn’t publish photos, because “Bridget” must be beyond pretty.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary P
    Jan 30, 2007 @ 08:48:10

    Ted’s a lunatic, suggesting his friend date this woman, then dumping his WIFE three days later so he can date her. And the writer is beyond pathetic.

    Bridget, though… Two men who ‘can’t withstand’ her wiles? Who will give her anything if she ‘cries or wants something’? She’s having the time of her life! For now. Sooner or later, it’ll get stale and she’ll move on, leaving the pathetic brothers to their own devices.

    Eesh…

    Reply

  2. Ozymandias
    Jan 30, 2007 @ 18:19:15

    That was something else.

    Reply

  3. 49erDweet
    Feb 02, 2007 @ 00:23:05

    But aren’t these “men” just living out the modern “Playboy/Playgirl” philosophy? If it feels good, do it? Never mind the repercussions?

    Truth to tell neither is really a “man”. They are both little boys who’ve never matured developmentally. They are “stuck on 7” years old, and will probably remain there until they turn 60. At which time they will advance quickly to 40, for the remainder of their lives.

    Sad story. Too typical, I fear.

    Reply

  4. Carolyn
    Feb 07, 2007 @ 09:51:14

    Bridget may have been pretty, but there’s something about a woman willing to break up a marriage that makes her ugly. I was dating a guy a few years ago that I really liked a lot. I found out he wasn’t paying his child support and he was instantly unattractive to me. I broke up with him the next day. Actions define people so much more than their looks…at least to me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

