Variations on a theme

Oh, the wonders of digital manipulation!

The original, dewdrops on branches at night:
 
dewdrops on branches at night
 
albumen
 
albumen
 
contours
 
contours
 
neon glow
 
neon glow
 
soft plastic
 
soft plastic
 
posterized
 
posterized
 
high pass
 
high pass
 
Finally, a version so radical as to merit its own title. I call it, upward tug:
 
upward tug
Is it gimmickry? Or artistry? (Not that I make any pretense of being an artist.)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Knotwurth Mentioning
    Mar 18, 2007 @ 09:34:18

    I disagree with the last comment (the one in brackets). You blog. If creative writing can be considered an art form, is there any reason why blogging should not ? The different slants on blogging are infinite. For one person, it’s about information. For another, it’s about posting their own traditional forms of artwork, like photos, or paintings, or even Photoshopped pictures. For others it’s about advocating certain ways of life, or simply recounting their life!

    Much like any other form of art, blogging is geared around the person’s creative sense. One can paint for political reasons, personal ones, financial ones, or even just for painting’s sake. The same can be said of blogging, and as such I think we can all consider ourselves the participants in not just a new medium, but a new form of art!

    Reply

  2. Rob
    Mar 18, 2007 @ 20:41:10

    Hey Stephen,

    I thought you were done with blogging, but look at that; I decide to take a look and I am greeted by a plethora of posts! I’ve enjoyed the photography on here. I hope you and yours are well. God bless.

    – Rob

    Reply

  3. Stephen
    Mar 21, 2007 @ 08:59:15

    • Knotwurth:
    I disagree with the last comment.

    That statement amuses me. I’m used to taking all kinds of provocative positions on my blog to start discussion, but I didn’t expect my assertion that I’m not an artist to be one of them!

    If you described me as “creative”, I would agree with you. I have always had a creative streak, and I express it in several different ways. Blog posts and photographs are two of them.

    But an artist? I don’t have any great talent, either as a writer or as a photographer. Particularly not the latter: photography is just a hobby that I’m trying to get better at.

    • Rob:
    Thanks for dropping in to say hello!

    I never gave up blogging, not even for 24 hours. I just decided that biblioblogging was a dead end for me. I wanted to make a clean break, so I vanished without leaving a forwarding address.

    Which doesn’t mean you’re unwelcome here. I still address spiritual issues frequently, but I don’t do biblical exegesis per se.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

