An extraordinary monologue

Stand-up comedian Craig Ferguson confesses, on network TV, that he’s having qualms of conscience about his usual schtick. Not that he had been doing anything different from any other comedian: telling jokes about easy targets like Anna Nicole Smith and Britney Spears.

Britney Spears shaved headYou rarely see a public figure step out of his assigned role like Ferguson does here. It takes real courage. The audience has to adjust its role in response, and some people have a hard time figuring it out.
 
 
(hat tip, McSwain at Hildebrand Road)

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JewishAtheist
    Mar 20, 2007 @ 07:28:16

    Look up his eulogy-monologue for his father. Beautiful.

    Reply

  2. Carolyn
    Mar 20, 2007 @ 13:17:53

    Some of my friends were talking about that monologue and I’m glad I had a chance to see it on your blog. As someone who works a 12-step recovery program, it was REALLY refreshing to hear someone famous speak so realistically about the disease of addiction. I’m not a huge fan of celebrities breaking their anonymity because if they relapse they also represent the fellowship as someone who relapsed…but he was nice and veiled about it.

    Not much more to say, but it was just nice to have a little break in my day to listen to someone I can relate to. Recovery is especially hard when it starts getting warm out for some reason…the “rooms” thin out and triggers jump out of the woodwork. Watching something little like that can make a big difference if I can’t get to a meeting today.

    Reply

  3. MaryP
    Mar 20, 2007 @ 13:56:27

    That was touching. Good for him for that kind of integrity.

    (Nobody applauded his 15 years sobriety. Pity. He deserved it.)

    Reply

  4. Deb
    Mar 20, 2007 @ 19:13:45

    It IS a shame that his 15 year anniversary of sobriety didn’t get any applause… guess it was just too much for the audience to handle. It took them a while to realize that Craig was serious…

    I’m very proud of Craig and impressed. Wish more of us were willing to give others support instead of being so eager to tear others down.

    …but, it’s gotta start somewhere. Maybe, just maybe, Craig has started something…

    Reply

  5. Mary Armstrong
    Mar 21, 2007 @ 12:00:50

    I am so insired as I continue my struule. Your words were sincere and plausible and I appreciate them. Mary A. Moscow, ID

    Reply

  6. Jamie
    Mar 21, 2007 @ 21:21:28

    Wow, that was impressive. I find it very surprising that someone in Craig’s position would step out of his role to admit that his conscience is bugging him for his own words. That takes guts and integrity. Like I said, it’s impressive.

    Reply

  7. Stephen
    Mar 21, 2007 @ 23:32:09

    • Jewish Atheist:

    Thanks for the tip. I admit I hadn’t even heard of this comedian before; I don’t watch much TV.

    • Carolyn:
    I didn’t know you were in a 12-step program. Good for you! And I’m glad you found the video uplifting. Ferguson did a great job of leavening his serious observations with just the right amount of humour, I thought.

    • MaryP:
    They broke to commercial very quickly at the end of his monologue. Maybe the studio audience applauded him after that point.

    As for integrity, I agree. How often do public figures just say, without equivocation, that they were in the wrong?

    • Deb:
    Thanks for leaving a comment.

    The audience’s reaction was the part that I was most struck by (since I have never struggled with addiction). People were responding on auto pilot. It was startling to hear the inappropriate laughter because they just weren’t taking in what he was saying!

    • Mary A.
    Thanks for leaving a comment. I assume you meant to write “struggle”.

    I totally agree with Ferguson’s non-judgmental reflections on Britney and Anna Nicole. Anyone fighting such a life and death struggle deserves encouragement and support, not mockery. God bless you on your journey forward.

    • Jamie:
    He took a risk. Everyone here seems to think it was great, but I bet some members of his audience found it off-putting. Good for him, doing what he felt was right.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

