Canadian Disgrace

For a long time now I have considered Belinda — need I say her last name? — Stronach to be the joke of Canadian Politics. Unfortunately, this does not help the case of bona-fide female leaders in maintaining a solid image. Well, she’s at it again, after a brief reprieve from the “Blonde Bombshell”, as the article refers to her.

A recent article at The First Post stoops to what I consider to be almost tabloid-like news (although checking out their other articles, the paper seems to be about that level of news) in speculating on Bill Clinton and Belinda as a couple. While I shudder to see that Stronach is given any consideration in the news at all because of her antics, what is worse is the fact that, as this news article states, Hilary Clinton’s political aspirations are potentially affected by this latest development.

While I am no Hilary Clinton fan (I tend to think she is riding a popularity vote as opposed to being an actual campaigner), the fact that Belinda Stronach is able to affect the chances of any other politician is revolting. Who cares that Clinton is a “skirt-chaser” and that he happens to have happened upon Stronach, the “fine catch?” What happened to politics remaining outside of the bedroom? What happened to politics that were actually politics, not tabloid scandals? Of course, I am unsure if I am old enough to use the almost-nostalgic tone I am, but the truth is that politics in the media today are nothing but a joke, and Belinda Stronach is the physical embodiment of this conundrum.

I did a post on the political decline in North America earlier in my time on Deus ex Machina. One thing I failed to mention at that time was that the media makes politics out to be nothing more than celebrity gossip. Surely that plays a factor in people not bothering to vote. After all, when you consider that Stronach was at one time considered to be a veritable candidate for the leadership of the Conservative Party of Canada, you have to admit that your faith in our political system is slightly shaken.

Or maybe more than a little. Ugh!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. blackberry guy
    Mar 24, 2007 @ 19:44:00

    I like the other rumour better — the one about Peter MacKay and Condoleezza Rice. I’m not a huge fan of Condoleezza, but I’d say Peter has traded up from Belinda.

    Reply

  2. Knotwurth Mentioning
    Mar 25, 2007 @ 02:03:00

    Heh, I hadn’t even heard of that one! Oh dear, next will it turn out to be that Hilary Clinton actually is dating Condoleezza Rice’s ex-husband? Does she have an ex? Hmmm.. the tabloid potential…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

