BC and back

I haven’t had much time for blogging this week, because I spent four days in Vancouver, British Columbia. I wrote the previous two posts before I left Ottawa, but I haven’t had an opportunity to visit anyone else’s blog recently.

And I don’t have the mental energy to tackle anything very demanding today. But here are a few photos to provide some fresh content.

Ottawa from the air
 
Ottawa from the air
 
View from the wings … somewhere over Ontario, I think.
 
view from the wings
 
Take off, eh?
(Taken through the window of the taxi on my way into Vancouver. Canadians of a certain vintage will catch the allusion to Bob and Doug Mackenzie in my title for this photo. All I can say about the photo itself is, airplanes sure are phallic.)
 
Take off, eh?
 
North Shore Mountains ("a small subrange of the Pacific Ranges, the southernmost grouping of the vast Coast Mountains")
 
North Shore Mountains

The above photo is worthy of further comment. British Columbia is covered in mountain ranges — not just the Rocky Mountains.

Just this week, the Minister of Finance managed to insult British Columbians by saying that Canada’s beauty extends “from the majestic peaks of the Rocky Mountains to the rugged shores of Newfoundland and Labrador.” The Rocky Mountains are situated on the BC / Alberta border, so the Minister had inadvertently left out the whole province of BC. Oops!

(Rick Thorpe, the provincial Revenue Minister, commented, B.C. “actually does go to the Pacific Ocean.”)

Anyway, Wikipedia identifies 69 mountain ranges in BC! Who knew? Not me — I’m from Ontario, like the Minister of Finance.

Here’s a table showing the principle mountain ranges of BC, adapted from the Department of Natural Resources:

Range  Highest Mountain   Elevation 
 Rocky Mountains  Mount Robson  3,954
 Purcell Mountains   Mount Farnham  3,481
 Selkirk Mountains  Mount Sir Sandford  3,522
 Monashee Mountains  Torii Mountain  3,429
 Cariboo Mountains  Mount Sir Wilfrid Laurier   3,520
 Coast Mountains  Mount Waddington  4,015
 Cassiar Mountains  Thudaka Peak  2,751
 Vancouver Island Ranges   Elkhorn Mountain  2,210
 Queen Charlotte Mountains   Mount Moresby  1,143
 St. Elias Mountains  Fairweather Mountain  4,663

Fairweather Mountain is the highest point in BC. It is situated at the BC / Alaska border.
 
Seaplane
(This is the quick way to cross the Georgia Strait from the mainland to Vancouver Island: twenty minutes instead of 1-1/2 to 2 hours by ferry.)
 
pontoon plane
 
Vancouver International Airport (the city lived up to its rainy reputation while I was there)
 
Vancouver International Airport
 
Airport equivalent of a tugboat (the airplane is being towed by the little vehicle on the left, presumably on its way to a hangar)
 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ozymandias
    Mar 25, 2007 @ 00:51:36

    Bob and Doug Mackenzie

    I remember those guys.

    Reply

  2. Stephen
    Mar 25, 2007 @ 04:21:45

    I don’t remember them very well, apparently, because I misspelled their name (McKenzie). In real life, the “McKenzie brothers” are actors Rick Moranis (Bob) and Dave Thomas (Doug).

    They did achieve some notice in the USA, via the Second City TV program. They also released both a movie, Strange Brew, and a radio single, Take Off, featuring lead vocals by fellow Canadian Geddy Lee, of Rush.

    Good heavens, their Great White North comedy album made the Billboard Top Ten in the USA?! They’re better known than the North Shore Mountains!

    Reply

  3. Bill
    Mar 25, 2007 @ 05:51:33

    Cool . Looks like you had a few sunny breaks every time I am there it Freakin rains or snows and the mountains are behind clouds. M and I are planning to go this summer on hopes to see some mountains in sunshine.

    Reply

  4. Stephen
    Mar 25, 2007 @ 07:39:54

    I arrived about noon on Tuesday, and it was dry all day. Wednesday, Thursday, Friday … continuous rain. But my colleagues maintain that Vancouver gets less rain than Toronto in the summer, so you may be in luck.

    Reply

  5. Michael (a.k.a. Snaars)
    Mar 26, 2007 @ 21:17:58

    I remember a scene -maybe it’s in Strange Brew – where the McKenzie brothers explain how to get a case of free beer by putting a baby mouse in a beer bottle and feeding it until it’s grown, then complaining to the beer company. I thought the movie was hilarious, but then again I was probably around twelve years old when I saw it. I don’t remember much, but I do have lingering feelings of vague unease and sympathy regarding a certain skunk, and I’m not sure why.

    Reply

  6. Michael (a.k.a. Snaars)
    Mar 26, 2007 @ 21:20:08

    good photos, btw. These are your own? I notice your photo posts seem to get better and better.

    Reply

  7. Stephen
    Mar 27, 2007 @ 06:20:43

    • Michael:
    I never saw Strange Brew, so the skunk allusion is sailing right over my head. But I can sing a round of “ku loo ku ku / ku loo ku ku” with anyone who’s up for that.

    The photos are mine. I’ve been trying to be more creative, but frankly I think my talent is limited. It helps a lot to have mountains to photograph, and Paint Shop Pro to adjust the lighting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

