Diamond anniversary celebration

Blogging will be a little slow this week. I’m fighting off a sinus infection, and other priorities are competing for my attention.

Last weekend, the big event was my parents’ diamond wedding anniversary. Which one is that?, the guys are asking. “Diamond” means my parents were married 60 years ago.

1947

My sister, who is a graphic designer, created the invitations. (I’ve marred the symmetry of her design by painting over my parents’ names.)

The occasion was celebrated with an open house at my parents’ church. We planned for 144 people, and I’d say we reached the goal.

I was the MC, so I didn’t have an opportunity to take many photos. But I did snap this one:

anniversary cake

My parents’ wedding in 1947 was very simple:  there was no cake. Sixty years later, my mom got to pick out something suitably impressive.

Next up, my wedding to MaryP on May 21. But it’ll be hard to top a sixty-year success story.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 49erDweet
    Apr 25, 2007 @ 02:43:26

    ¡Salud!

    Reply

  2. Michael (a.k.a. Snaars)
    Apr 25, 2007 @ 09:37:11

    I love anniversaries! Just before Michelle and I got engaged, we attended a couple’s 75th wedding anniversary. It was wonderful. I’ll never forget the scene: the husband danced with his great-granddaughter, who had to have been about thirty years old. She was standing in proxy for her great-grandmother, who looked on wheelchair-bound with tears in her eyes. The years appeared not to have diminished their feelings in the slightest.

    Here’s to many more anniversaries for your parents, and here’s to the happy blogging couple!

    Reply

  3. juggling mother
    Apr 26, 2007 @ 14:18:26

    Wow, 60 years. Congratulations to them.

    I attended my grandparents Golden wedding anniversary as a child, but that’s the bets I can do. In fact I don’t know many people who are amrried, never mind been married for that long:-)

    Good luck next month. I’m sure t will be lovely, however you do it.

    Reply

  4. mcswain
    Apr 26, 2007 @ 23:45:03

    There’s a WEDDING coming?? Yay! Congrats to you and Mary P.

    What a great wedding picture of your folks–so much character in that shot.

    Reply

  5. Ozymandias
    Apr 29, 2007 @ 00:41:37

    That is great. I love hearing stories like this. My grandparents are about to celebrate 73 years.

    With a little luck your parents will hit that mark and well beyond. Congratulations.

    Reply

  6. Stephen
    Apr 29, 2007 @ 10:03:23

    I tried to respond to some of these comments a few days ago, but WordPress wasn’t in a cooperative mood. It told me I was posting my comments too quickly(!). I typed more slowly, but for some reason it didn’t work.

    • Michael:
    75 years of marriage is almost unimaginable! My parents were married at 17 years old, but even with such an early start as that it’s hard to hit the 75 mark!

    • Juggling Mother:
    I’m sure it makes my parents sad, but all six of their children ended up divorced. It seems doubly difficult to make a marriage work in our generation.

    But some of us continue to hope! Thanks for the good wishes to MaryP and I.

    • McSwain:
    I’m glad you commented on the photo. It’s so elegant, so evocative of a past era.

    Thanks for the good wishes!

    • Ozymandias:
    73 years! Simply amazing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

