Testing Out a Higher Gear

This post has inspired me to follow up my review of CCleaner with a review of Google Gears. I came across the post with Digg today, and was instantly convinced that the idea of Gears was far more intriguing than I had initially thought. I am not a user of a laptop, and my desktop always has some reasonable speed behind its Cable/DSL connection, so the concern was completely void when Gears was released. Read Google Reader content ON THE PLANE advertised Google… my thought was “you wanna help me get it ON the thing first?”

But, the notion that this could a) be handy for readers who do use a laptop, and b) play some role in killing Microsoft (always a worthy ambition, by me ;)), convinced me that this was one product worth testing out, even though it will always be with my Internet Connection less than a foot away.

More to come as I fiddle with the machine that Google has released. Hopefully it provides some valuable insight into the future of technology, as the above blogger suggested it does.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. blackberry guy
    Jun 19, 2007 @ 20:09:00

    Turning to Google to slay Microsoft is like befriending Stalin to defeat Hitler. The evil behemoth is dead; long live the evil behemoth.

    Actually, I like Google, but their plan is to become Microsoft. If they succeed, I won’t like them so much.

    Reply

  2. Knotwurth Mentioning
    Jun 25, 2007 @ 23:17:00

    As long as Google is based on open collaboration, at least partly, they are still preferable to Google. And since their plan is stealing away people from other major corporations, they are inevitably going to self-destruct. I’d rather befriend Stalin if I know he’s going to end up collapsing eventually, if Hitler is likely to have an indefinite lifespan!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

