This blog has taken on a life of its own

I’ve been at this blogging business for two and a half years now. I have accrued enough posts that the blog has taken on a life of its own. Here are my daily stats for the last 30 days:

thirty-day stats

As you can see, Outside the Box averages more than 300 hits per day. There were only six days this past month when I dipped below 300 hits.

Last week, I suddenly shot up to about 800 hits per day. But I wasn’t doing anything noteworthy to attract attention.

A few days ago, I got curious and checked my top posts to see what was going on. These are my stats for a seven-day period (I have cut off everything that received fewer than ten hits).

seven-day stats

We must be entering the Christmas season:  Controversial Christmas trees (from last November) received over 1,000 hits in a seven day period! It managed to surpass even Tarted-up teens, which is extraordinary.

Tarted-up teens attracts mega-hits for all the wrong reasons. I went back and removed most of the vowels from Br*tney Sp**rs’s name, which reduced the traffic considerably — but you can see that it still receives over 500 hits per week.

The remarkable thing is, none of the top eight posts is recent. Introvert / Extrovert: the difference is in your brain consistently attracts a half dozen hits per day, though it was posted in December 2005. Here are the stats for the past twelve months:

Introvert-Extrovert stats

As I said, the blog has taken on a life of its own. It’s very gratifying! And remarkable:  given that I’m now have a second blog, I am not devoting as much attention to Outside the Box as I once did.

Which brings me to a big announcement. Nebcanuck, my university-aged son, is going to join me as a co-blogger! He is studying political science but, like me, is interested in all sorts of things. (His first love? The Fastest Game On Earth.)

We will probably give the blog a face lift to mark the occasion. It might even receive a new name, but the url will remain the same.

When nebcanuck expresses a personal opinion, I’m sure you will show him the same deference that you show me. Which is to say:  have at him!

Many thanks to my regular readers!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bridgett
    Nov 12, 2007 @ 01:09:41

    December 25th comes to be Christmas is how I found you, in fact. It will be interesting to read another voice from your family.

    Reply

  2. snaars
    Nov 13, 2007 @ 22:36:28

    You neglected to mention several reasons your blog stats are so good:

    1) Good writing
    2) Consistent quality and frequency of posts
    3) You pay attention to and actively engage your readership
    4) You don’t shy away from controversial or difficult topics

    You are unapologetically opinionated, yet open to (even welcoming of) opposing views. I have been impressed by your ability to intelligently expound on a wide array of topics. Even Br*tn*y, and tarted up teens.

    You’ve managed to share a lot of yourself along the way, and that means a lot to readers, too.

    I’ll probably continue to read for as long as you care to continue writing!

    The new look is good. Best regards to Nebcanuck.

    Reply

  3. Stephen
    Nov 14, 2007 @ 10:24:11

    • Bridgett:
    I’m glad to see you’re still reading me (now us!). I’ve added your name to my blogroll, which I reserve for people who comment regularly.

    • Snaars:
    Thanks for the kind words. But are you implying that I am knowledgeable about tarted-up teens?!

    Reply

  4. snaars
    Nov 15, 2007 @ 18:45:51

    are you implying that I am knowledgeable about tarted-up teens?!

    The diplomatic answer would be: “Friend, please allow the clear evidence of your own writing on your own publicly published weblog, the answer to your question be.”

    My real opinion is: I think you know about as much about tarted up teens as you know about haiku. 😆

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Blogging or Police Arrest Batman While Chasing Britney Spears « EnViSiOn

Leave a Reply

