The day that wasn’t

I suppose a lot of people in North America got this storm. Essentially we skipped today — never set foot outside the door.

snow bank

That’s not quite true. After dark, when the strong winds died down, I went out to shovel (even though the snow was still falling) and took this photo. But really, it was the sort of day where it was best to huddle indoors.

I think we’ve had about 22 cms (9 inches) of snow. Believe it or not, the city has already come around to remove the snowbanks from our street once. Now they’re all back again, as you can see.

The only one who ventured outside was my stepdaughter. She went to a friend’s house where they watched five consecutive episodes of House on DVD.

And then she made her way back home again, through the blowing snow.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bridgett
    Dec 16, 2007 @ 22:27:17

    That was my Saturday. Viewing the world from the sewing machine, happy for my kids that it was snowing, but secretly missing July.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: What a weekend! « It’s Not All Mary Poppins
  3. aaron
    Dec 17, 2007 @ 10:47:03

    We feel fortunate that it was “warm” here, and that the brunt of the storm blew to the north of us. We had about 12 hours of cold rain, and lots of gusts, but that’s about it.

    Reply

  4. nebcanuck
    Dec 18, 2007 @ 09:44:27

    I enjoyed it, except that the Peterborough plows stink. Whenever there’s ice on the roads, they do maybe two major roads and leave the rest to the birds. Same thing happened on “dumping day”, with snow instead. Yeah, some streets were adequately done. But compared to the network of plows that would likely have been going in Ottawa, it was nothing. You had to bend low and push your way through the piles of snow here.

    Must be because Peterborough gets little snow most years. Sheesh.

    Reply

  5. Stephen
    Dec 18, 2007 @ 18:26:03

    • Bridgett:
    … secretly missing July.

    I can relate to that! Except I wasn’t secretive about it.

    • Aaron:
    You got off easy. According to today’s newspaper, Ottawa got a total of 37 cms of snow. (30 cms = 1 foot) It’s a record for December, and comes close to the 40 cm record for the whole winter, set in 1947.

    • nebcanuck:
    It’s true, Ottawa is equipped to deal with large quantities of snow. But two days have passed, and the roads are still a mess. Yesterday it took me an hour and 45 minutes to get home. Today it took me two hours to get to work.

    Reply

  6. nebcanuck
    Dec 19, 2007 @ 00:45:48

    For the record, I really do love it. Call me weird, but I think it’s a blast. I love winter!

    Oh, and I think your first photo is beautiful! Who thought mild-mannered Sunnyside could dress so fancy?

    Reply

  7. Jack
    Dec 19, 2007 @ 16:55:02

    It was really cold here today, about 62 or so with some light rain. I almost had to wear a jacket.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

