Laying it on [the gangs] thick

cbc

Part of my time the last couple weeks has been spent updating my list of podcasts. Though I don’t always check them daily, I tend to tune in to a variety of shows as I go about blogging or chatting to friends. But I found out recently that my list of subscriptions was sorely lacking, as CBC’s podcasts were completely absent from my list.

If you’re interested in great content, or simply don’t want to tune in to the television to catch the news, CBC.ca/podcasting has got a huge amount of content for free! Though some items, like The Hour, are not complete and serve as a grab for their television program as much as anything, others like the At Issue panel are full of potent newscasting without the inconvenience of tuning in at a specific time of day!

And it is, indeed, the most recent At Issue that has me posting today! First, for those of you not familiar with the Hou Chang Mao shooting, read the story here. Then, check it out the At Issue video yourself here, or subscribe to the podcast feed here, and take the 5 minutes to watch the panel.

Although Rex waxes poetical a bit too much for my tastes (I’m pretty sure the first line about Dickens is his motivation for doing so, but it’s still hard to bear 😛 ), he makes a very important argument, and the pathos really starts to hit you by the end. Though at first you groan in exasperation at the fact that he sounds so pretentious, it becomes clear that he’s talking about an issue that really requires some thought and sensitivity. The fact that he ends by calling out the gang members responsible for the killing is both necessary and sadly ironic; After all, those very people are the ones least likely to watch such a show.

I encourage you again to check out some of the podcasts, including the At Issue panel. That was an irregular feel for the show — the Point of View segment is arguably less intriguing than the normal “round table” feel of the program — but it still gives you a good feel for the type of issues confronted.

Welcome to the 21st century. Let’s do away with TVs forever!!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephen
    Jan 25, 2008 @ 22:25:50

    That’s Rex’s style. You should read his print columns in the Citizen! If nothing else, they’ll expand your vocabulary.

    This is a good plug for anyone who wonders what the news from Canada looks like. The At Issue panel is a long-time favourite of mine, although it’s strictly about political issues internal to Canada.

    The CBC’s radio programming is arguably superior to its television programming. For readers who are into science, “Quirks and Quarks” is excellent. (Also available as a podcast from the site nebcanuck linked to.) “Ideas” is frequently very interesting. Likewise “As It Happens”.

    I’m not sure whether I did something wrong, but I didn’t get Rex Murphy’s feature with the At Issue podcast. I ended up going back to the CBC site and streaming it there.

    Reply

  2. nebcanuck
    Jan 25, 2008 @ 22:31:12

    The CBC’s radio programming is arguably superior to its television programming.

    Don’t forget Stuart McLean’s Vinyl Café! It’s not immediately available on the front page, but it’s linked to on the side! If you want some Canadian humour, you have it there!

    I’m not sure whether I did something wrong, but I didn’t get Rex Murphy’s feature with the At Issue podcast. I ended up going back to the CBC site and streaming it there.

    I find that when you subscribe to a podcast, it picks only certain ones to give you retroactively. I don’t know if it’s based on some rating system, or if the people responsible for the feed pick it… but I’d guess that it’s the source of your problems getting Rex, whatever it is!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

