A Burden Too Great (Amos 8:4-9)

I was in Peterborough this weekend, preaching at St. Andrews United Church — my parents’ congregation. St. Andrews is celebrating its 175th anniversary this year. That’s a very long time, by Canadian standards:  stretching back to a time before Confederation (in 1867, when four of the provinces united to form a nation).

I don’t know whether anyone will be interested, but I decided to upload my sermon to the blog. I’m speaking on an environmental theme, grounding the message in a text from the prophet Amos.

The sermon is 25 minutes long, which is a rather long time for modern people to sit still and listen. But I’m not apologizing. I think it’s possible to hold people’s attention for that long, but a sermon has to be well crafted for it to work — no meandering.

The first voice you’ll hear is my father, reading a few verses from the Gospel of John. I’ve broken the recording into three segments. The middle section is longer than the other two.

Intro:

 
The land trembles:

 
Moral cause and effect:

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bill
    Jul 19, 2008 @ 02:25:48

    Regrettably I did not hear anyone laugh when you thanked them for their tax dollars. Worry not I did.

    Reply

  2. Bill
    Jul 19, 2008 @ 02:26:47

    Only because I also get some of those tax dollars..

    Reply

  3. Stephen
    Jul 19, 2008 @ 15:45:00

    They laughed at a couple of my small jokes, including that one. But it’s a rather elderly congregation, so they didn’t laugh loudly enough to be heard on the recording! Besides, my jokes aren’t really belly-laugh kind of funny.

    Thanks for taking the time to listen.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

