Setting the record straight

It’s obvious to everyone that I support the Democratic candidate in this election. However, I also value objectivity and accuracy. So let me set the record straight on one point.

I said that Sarah Palin utilized cue cards during the debate. Not so, according to Marc Ambinder:

Debate rules prohibited candidates from bringing any pre-prepared material with them.

Only blank paper and writing utensils were provided.

So to the extent that Palin seemed to be reading, it was because she had, during the course of the debate or during Joe Biden’s answers, written down some notes. Clearly, she had memorized talking points and wrote them down when she got to the podium. …

BTW: the debate organizers placed the paper on the lecturns, not the campaigns.

It’s odd, because it seemed to me that Palin frequently shuffled through her cards, as if she was looking for a specific one. But Ambinder’s account seems to rule out that possibility.

I stand corrected.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bridgett
    Oct 05, 2008 @ 21:13:02

    I know–I just figured she had notes on potential topics, which made sense to me, actually, from any debater’s point of view.

    Reply

  2. James Pate
    Oct 06, 2008 @ 15:41:22

    Yeah, she was writing a lot on her notepad, looking up every now and then to smile at the camera. It’s like she was saying “I’ve got this guy’s number.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

