Anxiety dreams

This post of Zayna’s got me thinking about anxiety dreams.

Once upon a time, I was a preacher. I had two anxiety dreams in that distant part of my life that still amuse me.

In the first, I stepped up to the lecturn after one of our elders — an exceptionally tall man — had been speaking. The microphone was way above my head. I kept jumping and jumping, but I just couldn’t grasp it to bring it down to my level.

In the other, I announced the text I was going to preach from, and then tried to turn to it in the Bible. Only I couldn’t find it. I did my best to put a brave face on things:  smiling and saying, “That’s right, it’s just past Isaiah”, or “… just before Paul’s letters” or whatever. Doggedly I flipped the pages one way, and then the other way, but I simply couldn’t find my text. Meanwhile, the entire time I had allotted for the sermon was being consumed with me searching futilely, like someone who had never opened a Bible in his life. Some preacher I was!

Is anyone else inclined to share?

Hannah Wooll, Anxiety Dream(Hannah Wooll, Anxiety Dream)

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cheryl
    Feb 18, 2009 @ 21:42:06

    I have a constantly recurring dream. I’m in college, it’s the end of the term, and I suddenly find out I am enrolled in a class I’ve never attended. I never knew I was enrolled, I’m failing, it’s too late to fix it, and it’s too late to drop the class. A perfect nightmare for an overachiever, I guess.

    Reply

    • Mee Tew
      Jun 02, 2009 @ 13:57:19

      Re: the anxiety dream about the class you’ve never been to, I often have a very similar one. I might have a vague “memory” of having actually gone to the class once but for undefined reasons haven’t been back and it’s test time and I know none of the material. A variation is not even being able to find the classroom – searching and searching.

      Reply

  2. Juggling mother
    Feb 19, 2009 @ 10:58:17

    I never remember any of my dreams – I never wake from them in any specific mood either. I have occasionally “jumped” myself awake, so probably the ubiquitous falling dream, but otherwise, who knows what is going on in my subconscious?

    Reply

  3. billarends
    Feb 20, 2009 @ 12:32:08

    To Juggling mother.
    I Have become a bit of an expert on sleep as I have to deal with a sleep disorder. OSA (obstructive sleep apnea) If you can’t remember your dreams that is a good thing. most people that have waking dreams (which are the ones we remember) are not getting enough sleep. The more dreams your recall (not have) the more likely you are suffering from a sleep disorder.

    Reply

  4. MaryP
    Feb 20, 2009 @ 12:34:59

    I used to have flying dreams as a child. Those weren’t anxiety dreams; they were absolutely lovely. It was a matter of leaning forward to the right angle and thinking the right kinds of thoughts, intensely. Getting off the ground was hardest, but once I was airborne, it was pure delight.

    The anxiety dream was a variant of this, in which I needed to get off the ground immediately, to escape some undefined but rapidly-approaching threat, but the anxiety interfered with achieving the mental state necessary for the ‘lift’. So I’d either be tethered to the ground (I always woke in a sweat before whatever it was got there), or I did get off the ground, but not high enough and was in ever-present danger of being torn asunder when whatever-it-was leapt up, or my elevation would be unreliable, and whatever-it-was could probably reach me.

    Reply

  5. Stephen
    Feb 21, 2009 @ 06:37:54

    I’ve blogged about flying dreams previously. Rereading it, it was one of my better posts. And it was followed by an interesting comment thread, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

