Where’s Waldo?

I see I haven’t posted anything new since March 7. That may be the longest gap between posts since I started blogging in April 2005.

I haven’t lost the will to blog. I’m just overwhelmed with work at the moment, and I’m too fatigued to write blog posts when I get home.

I’m in the final weeks of negotiations on a self-government agreement with a First Nation in Manitoba. That’s about as much information as I can provide, for reasons of confidentiality.

As we approach the point at which we can initial the final agreement, I’m suddenly negotiating on multiple fronts:  with the First Nation (of course), with the legal-technical working group (the lawyers who evaluate the text from a legal drafting perspective), and with the Department of Finance and other government departments. This means that I’m continually revising the agreement and then presenting the revisions to the other interested parties.

Sooner or later, there’s got to be an end to this “iterative” process. It only seems endless.

“Iterative process” is government-speak for repeatedly drafting and debating endless versions of the same damned document, until you’re in danger of becoming a front-page headline in the national newspaper:

Government employee goes berserk and beats several colleagues to death armed with only his Blackberry© and a yellow highlighter

“I feel much better now,” perpetrator says with a chilling smile

In other news:  Nebcanuck — who also seems to be too busy to blog — sent me this cool photograph.

checkers

That would be my Dad on the left, playing a pre Blackberry-era game of checkers with my younger son, Isaac. The photo has been suitably aged, except Isaac has too much hair for the 1950s.

Imagine having time for a slow-moving game of checkers!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ggw_bach
    Mar 20, 2009 @ 07:26:00

    yeah, agreed. Sometimes really off impinges on our ability to knock up a post, and really engage with wordpress. My own posting frequency has gone from 3 posts / week, to two, and now am considering a once a week! and like you, its not for lack of motivation or things to say, but rather those free times to make a quality condensation of thought.

    Reply

  2. JewishAtheist
    Mar 20, 2009 @ 14:22:14

    Government employee goes berserk and beats several colleagues to death armed with only his Blackberry© and a yellow highlighter

    Just FYI, Sharpie just came out with a new stainless steel marker. I’d recommend that if you’re going to beat colleagues with highlighter-like instruments. 😉

    Reply

  3. Jack
    Mar 21, 2009 @ 23:38:27

    I hate when work gets in the way of blogging. 😉 I certainly know the feeling, it is hard sometimes to muster the energy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

