GWDCS: Manifesto and Episode One

Post by nebcanuck, Stephen’s son.

GWDCS: Guys Who Do Cool Stuff. It’s the title of our summer men’s program at the Bridge Youth Centre. I’ve been volunteering for the Bridge since this past fall. It is a Christian organization geared around reaching out to “youth” from lower-income backgrounds within urban centres, with “youth” being a loose term that represents people ranging from 10 up to 25. Their tactics are unorthodox, their theology conservative. And often, it’s a stretch for people like myself (middle-class university kids) to get their heads around the world-within-a-world that exists even in innocuous places like downtown Peterborough.

Guys Who Do Cool Stuff is oriented towards young adult men that participate in other programs at the Bridge. It’s a males-only program, as the name implies, which might be politically incorrect in some of the better-off circles in our culture (Cubs is no longer boys only, for example), but hardly raises an eyebrow at the Bridge. And it’s refreshing, in a beat-the-pants-off-that-other-guy sort of way! 🙂

Because of the great time we had with our first get-together this past Wednesday (July 1st), and because I’m stoked for the rest of the summer, I figure I’ll post the videos to the blog, for your viewing pleasure. First, our man-ifesto (and the first taste of the male humour. Sorry ladies, for some of the lame jokes!):

And now the first week’s adventure:

And yes, that’s me, blowing it within three seconds by taking off a friend’s head.

Afterwards, we discussed how men should treat women, and what to look for in a woman. There were life stories, and Biblical examples. Even though we were short on guys, the conversation was solid and the event was great fun. And best of all, we’re reaching out to young people that Sunday morning services simply fail to connect with!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. snaars
    Jul 04, 2009 @ 23:20:32

    LOL! I am an instant fan of Guys Who Do Cool Stuff. (In his head, it probably lookd like – This!)

    I want to do river jousting. This rocks – and you’re reaching out to your community. More people should be doing this sort of thing. I applaud you.

    Reply

  2. Bill
    Jul 05, 2009 @ 08:17:36

    Sounds a good out reach idea (and fun). BTW I think I recognize one of the jousters who won the river joust? 🙂

    Reply

  3. Bill
    Jul 05, 2009 @ 08:18:49

    oops I meant to say it sounds {like} a good out reach idea.

    Reply

  4. nebcanuck
    Jul 05, 2009 @ 13:53:37

    Glad you both like it!

    snaars: (In his head, it probably lookd like – This!)

    Heh. That was the only part of the thing which was staged… and at the time none of us knew how he was going to fit it into the video. So I got a good laugh when I saw that ending, too!

    Bill: BTW I think I recognize one of the jousters who won the river joust?

    If you mean me, I didn’t win… I was the one who speared Dan in the head! (It didn’t actually disqualify me… we finished the fight and he won. But in the video he left it at that!) If you mean someone else, I’d like to know who!

    Reply

  5. Bill
    Jul 05, 2009 @ 23:12:22

    Yes You 🙂

    Reply

  6. absolutegrace
    Jul 07, 2009 @ 19:58:06

    Literally LOL!!! 🙂

    John and I couldn’t stop laughting at your poor attempt at following the rulz! too funny!!

    This is a great idea, and we are fans of GWDCS!! We want more!!!!

    Linda and JOhn

    Reply

  7. Stephen
    Jul 10, 2009 @ 09:47:38

    Thanks for putting up a couple of posts this week. I’ve been miserably ill with asthma, or maybe something worse. This is day eight, and I’m still quite sick.

    The man-ifesto is hilarious. I particularly liked the line about growing facial hair equal to or better than Sidney Crosby! You have to be a hockey fan to appreciate that the stated objective isn’t setting the bar very high!

    Also, I’d love to be able to pee my name in pure granite. Not a particularly useful skill, but good for the male ego nonetheless.

    Reply

  8. nebcanuck
    Jul 10, 2009 @ 18:22:32

    Sorry to hear about the asthma. I wondered at your absence.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

