Bruce Cockburn, Down To The Delta

Aaron posted a Bruce Cockburn song on Facebook, as his “Sunday song du jour”. (Are you sure you aren’t from Canada, Aaron? That’s the sort of Franglais we often hear in this part of North America.)

I’m a huge Cockburn fan. Aaron inspired me to post this video of “Down To The Delta”, an instrumental that I would describe as straight-ahead jazz (though Cockburn isn’t a jazz musician).

These three guys really cook:  check out the solo on the six-stringed bass, superbly supported by the drummer, beginning at about the 4:00 minute mark.

Cockburn’s all-around awesomeness doesn’t require commentary, although I will point out that he generates an extraordinary amount of heat on an acoustic guitar!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. aaron
    Sep 06, 2009 @ 14:39:17

    I’m glad my selection this morning inspired you, and thanks for sharing this performance. Usually when I think of his music, I’m most enamored with his lyrics, but as your link demonstrates, his musicianship is wonderful even without words.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

